Life Is A Game of Chess

I agree to the rules and conditions
and to better myself and my friends.
Desire, ability, effort; internal burning passion.
I smile big and take a seat behind white
first move kings side, move up the knight.

My opponent matches knight to F6
with this move I learn how to bake chips.
I think, I plan, I ponder some more
before moving queens pawn to D4,
herein taking a covered position.

He moves queens pawn without hesitation
I can sense within him the same burning passion
to reach the common goal.
Clean water is the secret in cleaning the bowl
I reach toward the board, queens bishop above the knight.

He moves queen side knight to equalize the center
I move queen’s knight, the game progressing right
a morning devoted to spicy fillers.
Black sits back and admires my last move
he thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.

He thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.
He thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.
He thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.
He thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.
He thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.

I sit there with ideas on what we should do.
He thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.
I suggest a move, hell… I suggest to him two.
He thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.
Seconds turn to minutes, minutes turn to more minutes.

I wait patiently, growing silent in waiting
memorize the board until it is a numbing routine.
He thinks, he plans, he ponders his move.
I wait less patiently, growing discouraged
he too has become quiet.

Though I am eager to learn I hit a red light,
I toil on the wooden decks of ability
with effort anchor my ship strongly.
Passion’s burning sun begins its fall to the horizon
and the reservoir of desire is evaporating.

He looks up from the board like he’s waiting on me…
I squirm in my chair uncomfortably.
Our investment in this chess game is not the same.
Stalemate…

I quit.

Life Is A Game of Chess

Leave a Reply

