Joshua, Mary’s Son

How will I tell my dad that I’m drunk again?
I’m alone at the party with tears in my eyes.
Than came a man who saw me sitting there
who wiped my eyes and gave me a ride.

We pulled in my drive and than he helped me to my doorway
when my father came out I could feel his eyes of shame.
“It’s not his fault I poured liquor in his kool-aid,
my name is Joshua and I will take the blame.”

Some say He’s just a carpenter like his father,
but Mary I swear your son walks on water.
Some people mock his good behavior,
but Mary I swear your Son is my Savior.

I watched his steps as we crossed a narrow bridge
when my eyes turned I fell and grabbed the edge.
He threw a branch that when I grabbed he pulled
and thorns in the branch left his hands with two holes.

Some say He is just a carpenter like his father,
but Mary I swear your son walks on water.
Some people mock His good behavior,
but Mary I swear your Son is my Savior.

A crooked wooden cross in His room
it was His first and favorite piece.
He carved out when he was eight
and took it down and offered it to me.
I took the cross with a sad grin,
tomorrow our friendship will end.
I will kill Him with my non-repentive sins
Jesus and Judas cannot be friends.

Joshua, Mary’s Son

Leave a Reply

