Call Me When You Get Back Home

The first date we had we went walking in the rain
as it fell lightly on the streets.
Our hands head tight and our breaths held deep
because neither of us knew what to say.
When we got back to your car, I pulled you in
and kissed you on the mouth.
You gently bit my lip and than you went to your car
and I said,

“Call me when you get back home
so I know that you made it back alright.
I’ll be waiting by the phone
hoping that you made it back alright.”

The next night we went to a cafe where a spaghetti stained newspaper
fueled our conversation.
I paid the bill and left a tip as you put your
coat back on.
Back to your house but the gate was locked
so I jumped and I let you in.
I pulled you close and kissed your mouth than I went to my car
and you said,

“Call me when you get back home
so I know that you made it back alright.
I’ll be waiting by the phone
hoping that you made it back alright.”

Call Me When You Get Back Home

One thought on “Call Me When You Get Back Home

Leave a Reply

